Achill Island Golf Club is located at Sandybanks in Keel on Achill Island, right beside the beach and boasting spectacular views of cliffs, the wild Atlantic Ocean and the hills of Achill. It is a 9 hole links course appearing straightforward at first glance but springing some surprises to those playing wayward shots.

There is a very active membership in the Club with activities throughout the year both golf and social.

Visitors are most welcome in Achill Island Golf Club with very reasonable green fee rates as well as the annual 2 week Festival of Golf held in August . The Club also offers special green fee season ticket rates to those visitors who might be staying for an expended period or frequent visitors.

Achill Island itself is a very popular holiday and break destination. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way, the island offers a superb base from which to explore the many areas of historic, cultural and scenic interest in County Mayo.

Achill Island Golf Club
President, Captain & Lady Captain

John Gallagher

Club President 2023-24

Paddy Joe Cafferkey

Club Captain 2023-24

Josie McManamon

Lady Captain 2023-234

Mary Gallagher

president 2022-23

Noel Cooney

Club Captain 2022-23

Elaine English

Lady Captain 2022-23

Tom McNamara

President 2021

John McNamara

Club Captain 2021

Phil Harnett

Lady Captain 2021

Club Captains, Lady Captains & Presidents

1960Rev James Glynn-
1961John G McHugh-
1962Tom O'Neill-
1963Ted Lavelle-
1964David Quinn-
1965Sergeant Charlie McLoughlin-
1966Rev James Lyons-
1967Seamus Ruddy-
1968John G McHugh-
1969Rev James Lyons-
1970Seamus Murray-
1971Rev V. O'Brien-
1972Myles Lyons Snr-
1973Gerry Grace-
1974Neil Lynch-
1975Tom FeelyClodagh KingRev. John Colleran
1976Johnny CarrollGretta GallagherRev. John Colleran
1977Paddy LavelleAnn QuinnRev. John Colleran
1978Arthur KnipeNora HollandRev. John Colleran
1979Dr Edward King SnrBridgie EnglishRev. John Colleran
1980Eneas McNultyMay LyonsRev. John Colleran
1981Pat ConwayKathleen ConwayRev. John Colleran
1982Tony TorphyBernie EnglishRev. John Colleran
1983Garda Peader HowleyClodagh KingRev. John Colleran
1984Eugene MastersonMary T McNamaraRev. John Colleran
1985Martin HiggensEileen HiggensRev. John Colleran
1986Michael Hassett SnrNellie CarneyRev. Paddy Williams
1987Michael T. EnglishPatricia FallonRev. Paddy Williams
1988Rev. John CosgroveNora HollandRev. James Kelly
1989Michael J. EnglishMary SweeneyRev. James Kelly
1990Brendan FahyBernie VarleyRev. James Kelly
1991Brian Mc.NeillEllen BoyleRev. James Kelly
1992Rev. Peter ConnollyValerie FitzgeraldRev. James Kelly
1993Sergeant Pat CarneyAnn QuinnRev. John Fallon
1994Hugo BoyleBridgie EnglishRev. John Fallon
1995John CafferkeyKathleen ConwayRev. John Fallon
1996Michael (Red) McNultyJoan NolanRev. John Fallon
1997Michael Edward LavelleAnne WilsonDavid Quinn
1998 Anthony Mc.NamaraPatricia FallonSergeant Pat Carney
1999Tom CafferkeyJulie HassettPaddy Lavelle
2000Tom McNamaraMary SweeneyPaddy Lavelle
2001Christy GallagherMarlene HeaneySeamus Murray
2002Gerry HassettAnnabella ConnaghanSeamus Murray
2003Leo SmithMary McNamaraMicheal P. English
2004Alan EnglishMary GallagherJoan Nolan
2005Michael HeaneyMary T McNamaraMicheal T. English
2006John GallagherMarjorie WallaceMicheal T. English
2007Sergeant Sean P. ConnollyAnastasia McNamaraKathleen Conway
2008Dominick M VeseyJulie HassettDominic T. Vesey
2009Edward McNamaraVeronica CunnaneDominic T. Vesey
2010Gerald Needham B.L.Karen LyonsAnne Wilson
2011Michael McGintyKathleen ConwayMyles Lyons Snr.
2012Noel EnglishAnnabella ConnaghanPaddy McHugh
2013Gerry WeirMary GallagherMichael John English
2014Brian ByrneNoreen FadianMichael John English
2015Rory LavelleAnne BurkePat Conway
2016Ioseph McGowanAnne KaneNoreen Fadian
2017Myles Lyons Jnr.Nora EnglishTom Cafferkey
2018Mark CorriganPauline BriodyEugene Masterson
2019Alan GieltyPauline MulvanyAnne Burke
2020Jim Quigley Phil HarnettTom McNamara
2021John McNamaraPhil HarnettTom McNamara
2022Noel CooneyElaine EnglishMary Gallagher
2023Paddy Joe CafferkeyJosie McManamon
John Gallagher

Club Committee 2023

PresidentJohn Gallagher087 7902684
CaptainPJ Cafferkey085 1742026
Vice PresidentVacant
Vice-CaptainPhilip McNulty083 1244160
Hon. SecretaryPauline Briody086 3455194
TreasurerNoel English086 8204321
Competition SecretaryAdrian L. McNulty086 3126525
Handicap SecretaryAlan Lynch086 6024804
PRODarren Boyle085 7354747
Junior ConvenorPaul Fitzgerald087 9560361
Designated Liaison PersonElaine McNamara086 6036698
Asst. SecretaryKaren Lyons086 8588360
Asst. TreasurerIoseph McGowan087 9171865
Asst. Competition SecretaryKeith McGinty086 0685747
Lady CaptainJosie McManamon087 2585938
Ladies SecretaryPauline Briody086 3455194
Comm. MemberJulie Hassett087 2307893
Comm. MemberGerry Weir086 8045550
Comm. MemberKathleen Conway086 1953559
Comm MemberDeclan Howley087 6712416